The Ethics Review Board City of New Orleans

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 10:30 a.m. Xavier University New Orleans, University Center

Present: Rev. Kevin Wildes, Chair; Rev. Cornelius Tilton, Vice Chair; Dean Winston Brown, Mrs. Leah Chase, Professor Kathryn V. Lorio.

Guests: Professor David Marcello of the Tulane Public Law Center; Mr. Frank Donze of the Times-Picayune

Fr. Wildes called the meeting to order at 10:35 A.M. Mrs. Chase moved to approve the minutes of the April 24, 2007 meeting. Rev. Tilton seconded. Motion passed.

Professor Marcello presented a suggested draft for the voting procedure to be followed in the selection of the Inspector General.

Rev. Tilton moved that the ERB go into Executive Session for the purpose of discussing the competence and character of candidates for the position of Inspector General. Mrs. Chase seconded the motion. Motion passed. The ERB proceeded into Executive Session at 10:48 A.M.

The ERB reconvened in public session at 12:15 A.M.

Rev. Tilton moved that, after reviewing the applications submitted, the following candidates for the Inspector General position should be considered further:

- 1. Mr. Robert A. Cerasoli
- 2. Mr. Matthew Harris
- 3. Mr. David R. Kent
- 4. Mr. Richard P. Martinez
- 5. Mr. T. Michael Taff
- 6. Mr. Edouard R. Quatrevaux

Professor Lorio seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

Rev. Tilton expressed his thanks, on behalf of the ERB, to the fifteen candidates who had submitted applications for the position of Inspector General.

It was announced that Ms. Gail Howard would contact each of the six candidates to advise them of the progression of his application to the next level of inquiry.

Rev. Wildes distributed the positi9on description to the ERB.

Professor Lorio then distributed a second draft of the Public Comment Policy. It was decided that Section II. A. 2. should read: "Public comments shall be restricted to items covered in the agenda for the meeting and may be taken prior to any formal vote." and that Section II. B. 1. should read: "All persons wishing to make written comments shall submit such comments to the Board prior to the meeting. Copies should be provided for all members of the Board." Rev. Tilton moved that the Public Comment Policy be adopted with the noted changes. Dean Brown Seconded. Motion passed.

Dean Brown moved to adjourn the meeting. Mrs. Chase seconded. Motion passed.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathryn V. Lorio