The Ethics Review Board City of New Orleans

Friday, February 23, 2007 2:00 p.m. Xavier University New Orleans, University Center

Present: Rev. Kevin Wildes, Chair, Rev. Cornelius Tilton, Vice Chair, Elizabeth Nalty, Secretary, Mrs. Leah Chase, Dean Winston Brown, Professor Kathryn Lorio.

Excused: Dr. Beverly Favre

Open participants:

Ed Qliatrevaux, former IG, Legal Services Corporation, Jill Hixon, chief of staff Councilman Arnie Fielkow's office, Nancy Parker, reporter Channel 8 TV, Katherine Shepard, law student, Loyola University, Marty Rowland – independent professor.

The minutes were corrected to reflect Professor Lorio's correct title and email. Reverend Tilton moved for approval of minutes, Professor Lorio seconded – motion passed.

Fr. Wildes distributed a job description for the position of inspector general. This was developed from the language of the Charter and the Ordinance.

Following a brief discussion of the above, the search process and a timeline, it was decided more coordination of information was necessary before committee approval.

Reverend Tilton recommended that approval of the inspector general job description be tabled until the March 23rd meeting. Dean Brown seconded – motion passed.

Discussion continued concerning the importance of committee education and clarity of purpose, developing a framework of the job description, policies and procedures, By-laws, Rules of Order and Board training.

Reverend Tilton recommended that the Executive Committee address the above and bring to the whole committee on March 23rd. Professor Lorio seconded – motion passed.

Meeting set for the Executive Committee: Friday, March 9, 2007, 2:00 p.m., 5509 Hurst Street.

Additional concerns for the Executive Committee to consider are office space, salary structure, Civil Service employees vs. inspector general, a non civil service employee – how does this work?

Next committee meeting will be held on Friday, March 23, 2007, 2:00 p.m. at Xavier University, University Center, parking in rear.

Reverend Tilton moved to adjourn, Dean Brown seconded – motion passed – 2:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Elizabeth S. Nalty